Author Topic: 78 VW Camper leaving me stranded. Help  (Read 4710 times)

Offline Sketchy_Dave

• LoveMyBus Newbie
78 VW Camper leaving me stranded. Help
« on: June 10, 2011, 09:04:22 PM »
I have been having issues with the idle on my 78 VW camper and now it starts rough, runs great down the road, then I turn it off and it wont start again.  I have learned my lesson after getting stuck away from home a couple of times, but I really want to figure out why I can't get it to start every time.  If I let it set for a while (overnight) it will start again.  Does anyone have an idea what this may be?

Offline azbaywindow

• LoveMyBus Recruit
Re: 78 VW Camper leaving me stranded. Help
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 09:11:19 PM »
My suggestion is that;  it sounds as if it has one of those coil type thermostats on it like a Bug and it maybe broken.  But mind you I'm new to Buses myself;  but I had many Bugs and they had a coil type thermostat that would prevent you from starting them up when too hot.  And I would presume that if that thermostat was to break it might make restart even more difficult. Might be worth a look see at a maintenance manual and see if that could be your problem.

Best of luck with that and I hope someone with more knowledge chimes in as well

Offline Beetle

• Global Moderator
  • LoveMyBus Radical
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2011, 03:41:51 AM »
...then I turn it off and it wont start again.
Does the engine spin freely when you're trying to start it hot or is it sluggish?
Beetle
'69 Bus (Bessie)

Offline Beetle

• Global Moderator
  • LoveMyBus Radical
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2011, 04:49:02 AM »
This thread may help if your problem is fuel related.
Beetle
'69 Bus (Bessie)

Offline Sketchy_Dave

• LoveMyBus Newbie
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2011, 06:10:03 AM »