Author Topic: I think I need to replace my streering damper?  (Read 2756 times)

Offline rodzilla77

• LoveMyBus Newbie
I think I need to replace my streering damper?
« on: March 14, 2009, 07:43:28 PM »
Hey guys I am new to the community and need some advice.  I have a 77 VW Transporter that I have been building up for the past 3 years and she is almost ready!  1.)I have a lot of play in the steering and have already relpaced the steering linkage and the tie rods.  I believe my slack is coming from the steering damper?  It is leaking oil and is probably original?  What are your thoughts?  2.)Also My emergenc brake is not engaging.  It is holding tension and yes I adjusted the nut on the cable.  The cable is tight when the lever is pulled, but still not catching on brakes.  I replaced my rear brake shoes and still no cigar.  I think it might be the drums might need to be replaced.  Your thoughts?  Thanks guys.  I will post pictures soon!

Offline GostaBerling

• LMBarchaeologist- I dig your bus!!!
  • LoveMyBus SuperSecret Agent
Re: I think I need to replace my streering damper?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2009, 07:34:44 AM »
welcome

1) From my experience the play in the steering wheel comes from the steering gear box. Typically a damper will get a bad spot in it that will cause the wheels to shake violently if you hit a bump. If it is leaking then I'd replace it as there is no way to refill it and it will eventually be useless. You can check for certain if this is your problem by removing the damper and compressing it by hand. It should compress smoothly and evenly and then return back to normal position.

2) Have you adjusted the rear brakes properly? If they aren't adjusted then the e-brakes will not engage. Also, have somebody pull the cable while you have the drums off and see if the e-brake moves.
Check out Willy's blog: Life and Adventures of a bus named Willoughby

http://willoughbus.wordpress.com/